Super Mom needs a hug, prayer, a cleaning lady, a cook, a massage, a coffee, a babysitter……….

modern-mom           

I’ve been on hiatus from this blog thing. Pretty much because I’m too tired to write my thoughts down anymore. Actually I have a lot of posts that I started when I had this urge to write it out, and then a child distracted me and I never finished them. So maybe, just maybe in the far off future I will finish some of my thoughts. Today might in fact be one of those days.

I was going to write about how as moms we need to just take a deep breath and relax. Then I felt like a hypocrite because I’m the personification of not taking a deep breath and relaxing. In fact I don’t think I even know how to actually relax. The only time  I don’t keep going is because I’m so exhausted I can’t physically move. 🙂 I think I’m in that mode today. In fact, my almost 5 yr old & 2 year old are playing video games as I write this poignant piece. That’s right VIDEO GAMES! I despise video games, but right now I’m too tired to even care.

The reason I even ventured onto my cobweb filled blog was because there was a mama that touched my heart yesterday & I wanted to tell her that I would carry her burden for her. That if I could be Super Mom for her I would do it. I would take her responsibilities, worries, frustrations, anger, exhaustion, and just toss it up on my shoulders & carry it for her for as long as I could bear it. She broke my heart. Not because I don’t think that she’ll master this season in her life, but because as a mom myself I know the push or the idea we place in our own heads about what we’re supposed to be doing. How we are supposed to BE. We carry the worries and burdens of our families. We carry the worries and burdens of ourselves. We carry the frustration and heartbreak of things we cannot control. Because let’s face it ladies we  want to make it better for everyone. For ourselves. For our kids. Our spouses. If we could be a Fairy Godmother to those around us I think we would.

I have honestly sat back and watched this mama & say to myself ” I don’t know how she does it. She makes me tired just thinking about all the things she’s committed herself too”. And then I want to shake her & say just slow down! Relax! Don’t run all over everywhere! Just be! She is always smiling. She is always saying I’m fine, but yesterday she finally let go. Inside I was like yay!! But then I realized if this sweet cheeks of a lady was letting her hurt show then she must really be hurting!! It made me cry! It made me pray more than I have in a long time. I want God to give her peace, strength, and shower her with love. I want all of her stresses in life to be healed. I want the devil to get the middle finger for causing all this crap.

She’s not Super Mom or Super Woman. She is simply a woman, mom, wife, daughter, friend who needs the help of other women who knows exactly what she’s going through. Who are there to lift her up in prayer or bring her dinner or lend an ear.  I think we all need that. Regardless of the season of life we’re in or the ages of our children. Mom’s need that community of women to hold them up when they can’t lift a finger. When the burden of the world has been dumped right at their front door & no amount of cleaning can make that mess go away.

I’m bad at that myself. I’m a part of multiple moms groups via Facebook or Meet up or  Instagram. I rarely if ever actually go out to a meet up & have grownup conversation with moms who are going through the same things. It takes more energy for me to get the kids ready & out of the house to go so pretty much every time I don’t go. I found this meme on Instagram & couldn’t help but post it on my account because it explains the struggle:

“My life is a struggle of constantly wanting to go out and have fun with people and also avoiding human contact at the same time”

When I do manage to get together with a friend or other moms my tank has been refueled and I feel like a normal person again, but I go far too long to get it filled up again. I’m pretty much running on fumes EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. This is when I’m hoping other moms out there can enable their ability to read minds and just know that I need someone or that any mom needs someone. Mine needs fine tuning, but maybe in the future I’ll be able to see other moms out there who may need help or a coffee or a night out or dinner brought to them even if they didn’t just have a baby. Sometimes us moms just need dinner to be cooked for us rather than wondering how or what we’re feeding our families EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT.

So this week I’m going to help out that mama I was talking about. I’ll drag my kids with me & we’ll have a gaggle of children while we “organize” or complain or pray or cry or laugh or all of the above.  I’m hoping we’ll be able to fill our tanks, and manage to make ourselves feel more like people and not like the crazy zombie like creatures we play on t.v. Shoot! I might even put make-up on. Then again I might not.

SO to the mama out there that I’m talking about. You know who you are. Dang! I hope she reads this. You are a gem my friend! You are light to so many young & old. I know you are wading your way through a lot of garbage these days, but know that I’m here for you. I’m here praying. I’m here to call, text, message, or whatever. It’s ok to breakdown and allow yourself time to just let go. Allow yourself to not run all over the world & do things WHATEVER those things are.   You are only human which means you aren’t Super Woman!! So take a breath! Reach out for help with whatever that is for you, and know that I love you and that so many do.

Picture

Leave a Reply

