Encouraging words for Mamas

Ok so a couple of nights ago in my post Comparisons I mentioned the Gypsy Mama and her e-book: The Cheerleader for Tired Moms. I also mentioned that the second post in her e-book was the one that brought me to tears. Ok I’m not talking Oh how touching tears I’m talking full on sobs, but in a good way. I started reading it to the hubs and had to stop every few seconds to wipe away the tears that were falling down my face. Every time I stopped reading I would apologize to my hubby and then say, ” I don’t know why I’m crying so much”.

I don’t know what it was about that post that brought me to tears. Actually I do. As corny as it sounds this little e-book spoke to my soul. It spoke to what we all know happens to moms around the world yet we often times feel completely isolated with the overwhelming beautiful gift of being a mom. So when I read this e-book I immediately wanted to share it with every mommy out there that is feeling the same way and needs some words of encouragement. Words that would let them know that they are not alone. So I e-mailed The Gypsy Mama and asked her if I could share the post that she has in her e-book. Well, guess what!!! She actually e-mailed me back!! I was like Eek!!! Ya totally like Eeekkk! She said I could share it with the world as long as I direct everyone back to the original post. So without further ado I am going to give you a little morsel of it and then you all can go directly to her amazing blog that helps encourage mama’s like myself.

For the Days When You Want To Quit Motherhood

This post is for my little cousin, Bronwen, who’s at the one year mark of motherhood.

And it’s for you.

This post is for those days when “getting over yourself” is the last thing an exhausted, I-can’t-take-it-anymore, run down mother needs to hear.

Can I just take your sweet face between my hands and look into your tired eyes and tell you what you’re doing is exceptional?

Tell you that motherhood is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Period. And I’ve worked for the UN on counter human trafficking, for NGOs on the Aids and orphan crisis in South Africa, as well a corporate law firm.

And I still maintain that having the 24/7 responsibility of a child is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. By far.

Being at someone else’s literal beck and call will lay you low. It will rob you of a sense of self that can take time and tears to rediscover in this new identity of mother. Give yourself grace to realize that and to mourn the loss of who you were, before you begin to embrace the who you’re becoming.

There’s the morsel. So please click on the title to go read one of the best posts I’ve read about mommy’s. Us mama’s need to stick together.
Don’t forget to follow her blog so you can get the e-book.
Leave a Reply

