Comparisons

If you’ve read my blog you’ve probably noticed a little trend. That I’m slightly overwhelmed at times or that I feel I should be all and do all. In my defense I think it’s in my gene’s. Like for real. My mom is the same way. I’m always telling her, “MOM!!! Why do you think you have to be all and do all for everyone? You ARE NOT SUPERWOMAN!!!” Then she looks at me and says,”Really? You’re gonna ask me that? Hello!! You are the same way”. To which I reply, “Well, it’s all your fault”.

I am notorious for comparing myself to others. I’ve been doing it since I knew what the word meant probably. Pretty sure it hit overdrive when I became a SAHM. The thing is I know it’s awful to do. I know logically that no one is perfect! Yes I’m stuck in this crazy cycle of thinking that so and so does it better than me. Blah, blah, blah. Even I get tired of hearing myself think this way.

So I read this awesome blog by the Gypsy Mama and she just kinda laid it out there. It’s nice to know that she feels the same way too. It’s nice to know the imperfection of others and that I’m not the only one to compare myself to others. I also subscribed to her blog to get this inspirational e-book: The Cheerleader for Tired Moms. Yes, it’s a must read!! It’s a precious book with all of her most inspirational posts for mommy’s. Just saying if you subscribe to her blog and get the book the second post will bring you to tears. I read it out loud to the hubs and had to take breaks in between reading it cause I couldn’t stop crying. I’m not sure there’s much more to say other than just that.

I could go on and on about the craziness that is comparison, but she says it so well. That it literally robs you of who you are or what you do or how well you do it.

So take a breath, enjoy the moments, make a point to see what you do well, and be thankful that you can’t do it all. Cause if you think you’re tired now imagine your exhaustion if you could do it all.

One thought on “Comparisons

Leave a Reply

