Mini Vaca for Mommy

Tuesday I had a case of the crazies.  

My little goose had been sick for a little over a week which means we went absolutely NOWHERE except to the doctor’s.  When my hubs walked in the door that evening he could see me foaming at the mouth working myself into a frenzy.  Our eyes connected and he knew without a word being spoken that I needed to GET. OUT!!!  With the crazies steadily taking over I started ranting about something or other. I honestly have no idea what I even said. As I was washing dishes he told me that I needed to get out for a little bit.

My hubs has this incredible ability to convince me to leave. It goes something like this:

Hubs:  Babe, you need to get out of the house. Just take a break for a little bit.

Me: I CANNOT possibly leave this house with all the things I still need to do. ( This is where I begin listing my various tasks that have fallen by the wayside since my little goose has been sick)

Hubs:  You can do that stuff later just take a moment to yourself.

Me:  YOU. DON’T. UNDERSTAND!!  There’s just too much to get done and not enough time to do it in. (As tears start streaming down my face and I’m shaking my hand at him trying to emphasize the Category 5 hurricane that is about to unleash on him)

Hubs: Begins grabbing my purse and keys as he hands them to me and says, “LEAVE”.

How can I resist being kicked out of my own house?  As I drive away I’m kind of giddy with excitement as to where I can possibly go for my mini vacation. I could head to Old Navy. I have a gift card afterall. I could head to Michaels.  I need some more yarn for my current project.  Hmmm….I settle on Barnes & Noble.

Let me tell you it was like Heaven to me. I can’t tell you the last time I set foot into an actual bookstore. I have a Kindle Fire that my hubs bought me for Valentine’s Day so I’ve only had to push a button to buy myself a book. When I walked into Barnes it was like I was coming home. There’s just something about walking into a bookstore and spending my sweet time looking at the books and yes even smelling them.  I walked up and down nearly every aisle of books. It was wonderful!!

I eventually found myself in the cookbook section. I begin to hear this heavenly voice that sounded so familiar and I was trying to remember where I’d  heard it before. As I was following the sound of the voice I looked up and saw this bright heavenly light shining and this is what had been calling to me.

It was The Pioneer Woman and she was speaking to me!!  Not really, but it was magical all the same.  I grabbed that cookbook and hugged it like we were long lost friends. I flipped through it and salivated at all the food I would be cooking and eating and eating and eating.  I also picked up a lovely little cookbook for Macaroons. That’s Macaroons with two o’s.  You say Macaroons. I say Macarons. Sounds the same to me.

My mini vaca lasted about an hour. I returned home refreshed and rejuvenated. I sat down with my new cookbooks and enjoyed the rest of my night.

Leave a Reply

