Five Minutes Fridays……….Risk

Five Minute Friday – Risk…

The Gypsy Mama has shared a wonderful idea of doing Five Minute Fridays. The rules?

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Risk……………I think life is a risk. I guess if I thought about every risk we really do take as people and parents I would put a bubble around our house and never leave. However, there is one risk that I can’t seem to get clarification on. Its vaccinations!! I know another mom not sure about giving her child a vaccine!!! It’s not so much that I think vaccines are horrible. In fact, my little goose has actually had a few. My concern is more about how many and how often doctors tell you that your baby needs them. Also I wonder about the risks involved for how many new vaccines constantly pop up. I mean the biggest joke is the vaccine for Chicken pox. I’m sorry but I would much rather have my child battle the dreaded chicken pox then some chemical vaccine coursing through his little body. I went through it and so many others have that I feel this vaccine is completely unnecessary.

Of course there is the other side of it all. What if he doesn’t give vaccine XYZ and then he gets really sick? What kind of mom am I? It’s these kind of struggles I continue to have with the vaccination situation. What if I do?  What if I don’t?  There seems to be a risk either way and sometimes I’m not sure if I’m risking it in the right area.

I also don’t feel it’s the governments job to force me or any other parent to vaccinate their child. I’m sorry but when did it become the governments job to tell me if I should or shouldn’t vaccinate my child? Seems to me that they have overstepped their bounds a touch.

Oops my 5 are up!

7 thoughts on “Five Minutes Fridays……….Risk

  1. Shari says:

    Hey there! Thanks for stopping by my post – came over to check out yours 🙂

    Considering the options is always a good thing, but I do feel very strongly about vaccinating children! I feel that it becomes a public health issue (which does become a government issue). There have been outbursts of rare diseases due to parents not vaccinating… To me it is not worth the risk of not vaccinating bc the risks of not vaccinating are clear & proven while risks of getting vaccine are not (right now as least).

    Also, wanted to say that I got the chicken pox vaccine when i was about 10 or 11 yrs old, & I am so so glad that my mother had me get it!
    Otherwise i would be facing shingles since I never got chicken pox in early childhood.

    Sorry to throw all of that at you especially since it was just a stream of conscious writing prompt, but just wanted to share concerns & possibility food for thought?

    Hope you understand where I’m coming from 🙂

  2. why Do Toddlers Hit says:

    Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and say I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same topics? Appreciate it!

  3. Annie Reinowski says:

    Chickenpox is most infectious from one to two days before the rash starts, until all the blisters have crusted over (usually five to six days after the start of the rash).If your child has chickenpox, try to keep them away from public areas to avoid contact with people who have not had it, especially people who are at risk of serious problems, such as newborn babies, pregnant women and anyone with a weakened immune system (for example, people having cancer treatment or taking steroid tablets).-

    Hottest piece of writing on our very own web portal
    <'http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/sinus-infection-symptoms/

Leave a Reply

